PDA

View Full Version : Slowing down

Marc Casebolt
03-29-2009, 7:16 PM
I'm new to this neander way of working. As a reformed power tool junkie, and trying to go the total neander way when I can, I find it hard to slow down. What I mean is, for instance, the project I'm on now would be complete by now with the power stuff, but I'm still prepping the boards, and working out the joinery.

Don't get me wrong here, I don't want to go back, and I'm having more fun with this than I have in a long time. I really like learning new skills. I actually have planed the sides of my material flat and parallel by hand!! (hey it's a big deal to me).

What I need to learn is to take my time. I find myself planing as fast as I can and making mistakes. I try to hurry up when starting a saw cut, and getting it going off the line. I need to find a way to drill holes square to the surface. Lots of stuff to mention, I'll leave it at that.

As time goes on I find that I am getting better at being careful, and checking myself before any damage is done. I'm sure that in time a more even pace can be achieved, but for now I'm fighting my learned tendency to go as fast as I can. I hope this makes sense.

Anybody else make the same transition to hand tools and have this problem?

Thanks,
Marc

Robert Rozaieski
03-29-2009, 7:32 PM
You can work fairly quickly using hand tools, however, you need to change the way you think about processes. For instance, before you go planing evey piece of lumber for your project to four square, take a step back and ask yourself if it's really necessary?

Do you work to a cut list? Again, you can work much faster by hand by not doing so. Instead, work off of your actual piece to gauge parts. Don't measure. Put your rule or tape away and gauge instead.

Have a board that's 6¾" wide but your plan calls for one 6¼"? Ask yourself if you really need to rip it down ½" or if you can instead simply use the full board width.