PDA

View Full Version : Getting consistence level of sharpness

Tri Hoang
04-01-2009, 11:44 PM
I am an extreme novice at sharpening. My set up consists of the Grizzly T10030 (tormek clone) which I used mostly as a shaping machine. I do all of the sharpening/honing free hand on a pair of King 1000 and 8000 water stones. After some practice, I've been getting pretty good results lately as measured by shaving forearm's hair.

My trouble began about a week ago when I accidentally got a really sharp plane blade after using my 8000 stone. It cuts the hair just by touching them. Putting it back into my LV LA jack, I was amazed at how much less effort it requires to plane...it feels extremely smooth.

I have not been able to repeat that same result since.

Am I expecting too much out of my tools/techniques or is it the norm for you experts out there with similar set up?

Jim Koepke
04-02-2009, 12:00 AM
One word comes to mind, epiphany.

You fortunately achieved a great result before fully developing your skills.
Now, you know what can be achieved and where the goal resides.
With practice you will be able to repeat it on a regular basis.

In other words, yes, it has likely happened to many of us. It has happened to me.

You may want to acquire a stone between the 1000 and 8000 when you can. A 4000 stone is my advice.

jim

Brian Kincaid
04-02-2009, 8:42 AM
I too had an experience like this. I spent some time cleaning and sharpening some old hand planes handed down to me. After cleaning up the #4 I put it to some oak I had lying around. The resulting surface was far better than I had achieved with any plane including my LN4(bronze) up to that point. I guess newbies get lucky sometimes. Of course then I spent a few minutes (or was it hours?) with my LN and got it up to the same standard as the vintage Wards Master :rolleyes:

Brian

Mark Singer
04-02-2009, 8:43 AM