PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here, with a plea: Please, George.

Charles Bodner
04-04-2009, 4:41 PM
I have been reading this site for several months, now. I finally signed up. My ramble:

First, a thank you to all who have posted: I have learned an awful lot.
Second, while I, on my own, took my first hesitant steps towards tool ownership with some eBuy items and flea market treasures, my now headlong plummet down the slope is entirely the Creek's fault. You collectively. Own up to it. Apologies accepted.
Third, I may now have to lay those tools back down. While I sit here and type and gaze with extreme pride at the bench and Shaker end table my hands wrested from wood scrap, I need only view George Wilson’s mastery of craft to see that what I did was to create something just this side of firewood.
So…I now come to the point: the reason that I registered was so that I could add my voice to those pleading with George to put together a book, preferably with some how-to included. Please, George.

Brian Kent
04-04-2009, 5:12 PM
Charles,

Welcome, friend of Creek. I too want to see George's future book. I also don't think that we need to compare our own work with George Wilson's. It is a little intimidating, I admit.

So please post pictures of your bench and shaker end table, and you will get kudos and ideas and information and even nice friends!

Brian Kent

george wilson
04-04-2009, 5:15 PM
Charles,I really appreciate your attitude,and your request. I'll have to see what the future holds. Books are expensive to publish,especially fully illustrated ones.

Meanwhile,if you can recognize a good design,you are already well on the way yourself.Coming up with a good design is really half of the accomplishment.

When I was a kid,I used to trace pictures of sailing ships,as well as draw a lot. Tracing probably trained me to look very closely at objects. Tracing fine sailing ships probably helped train my eye to realize what constituted good design.