PDA

View Full Version : circles

Shannon Kruse
04-18-2009, 11:55 PM
Hey all,

I have been doing woodworking for the last three years and have covered all the fields (lathe work, carpentry, fine woodworking, hand carving, power carving, etc) and through all of this I have slowly developed a love for the hand tools. I would love to learn how to make beds, dressers, and such without the use of any power tools.

Recently I have started making elevated dog bowls which require circles cut into the tops. I have been using my Bosch jigsaw, but do not like how this works. I was wondering if anyone out there knew of any hand tools that could cut holes in 3/4 inch oak boards (average hole is 7 inch diameter)

I live in an apartment, don't have a lot of cash to get tools, and don't have any place to put power tools (otherwise I would use a drill press and circle cutter). Is there anything out there like that?

Thanks

Derek Stevens
04-19-2009, 12:23 AM
any pictures of one of the dog bowls to help with a tool suggestion?

Eric Hartunian
04-19-2009, 12:26 AM
If the board isn't so big that the throat of the saw gets in the way, a coping saw would work. You would have to drill a small hole, insert the blade, then assemble the saw. You probably will have to clean up your cut with a rasp/file as well.

Eric

David Gendron
04-19-2009, 1:48 AM
A better saw than a coping saw would be a turning bow saw. Tools For Working wood sale one that is wonderfull to use. the price is not bad and actualy they are on sale until the end of the month. They come with 3 different blades for different work or different wood. I have one and wouldn't part with it(I opperate a hand tools only work shop!).
David

Ralph Barker
04-19-2009, 10:38 AM
Cutting circlular holes in wood by hand is probably somewhere between "deliberate" and "tedious" - depending on one's state of mind while doing so. ;)