PDA

View Full Version : Rush seat

Doug Mason
04-25-2009, 7:40 PM
Anyone have much experience doing these? This is my first attempt and other than taking most of my Saturday, it is making my hands look like I've been "working in the fields" for the last ten years!

Richard Wolf
04-25-2009, 7:49 PM
I've done a few, I hope you are using a weaver's needle?

Richard

John Keeton
04-25-2009, 7:50 PM
That's neat Doug! Never done any rush, but I have done similar bottoms with some macrame cord a few years ago. Also, did some caning a while back. With that, you use glycerin in the water to soften the cane, and it really is quite kind to the old weather beaten hands!! Doubt it would work with the rush, though.

It is amazing how the bottom starts to tighten up as you get further along.

Doug Mason
04-25-2009, 7:55 PM
Richard--the directions I have mention nothing of a weavers needle? I'll do a google search.

I did moisten the rush with water, though (per the directions)

harry strasil
04-25-2009, 8:01 PM
FWIW, those light blue gloves with the rubberized palms and fingers work good for doing stuff like that and you get a better grip on things. I buy mine at ACE Hdwe.

John Keeton
04-25-2009, 9:38 PM
Doug, as I am unfamiliar with rush, I didn't realize that it was moistened. You may want to try the glycerin idea - it worked well on the caning - both for the cane and the hands.

David Gendron
04-25-2009, 11:41 PM
Look realy good so far. Did you make that rocking chaire?

Greg Campbell
04-26-2009, 1:05 AM