PDA

View Full Version : Just darn done do it! Benchdreaming cure.

Dean Karavite
04-29-2009, 2:14 PM
Like many here, I have been spending countless waking hours thinking about building my ultimate workbench. I have all the books and have read them 20 times each. There is not a website on workbenches I have not seen. In fact, I bet I could spot Chris Schwarz’s cousin at a presidential inauguration. You all know what I am talking about. We are obsessed with benches!

However, I'm still new at all this. How the heck do I really know what I want or need? Say I went out and bought all that big bucks maple, dried it, milled it and built something over weeks and weeks only to discover I made regretful design decisions? How could I possibly get it right the first time? Answer: There is no way.

This week I did what I should have done months ago. I just went out and got the materials to build what is essentially another version of the $175 workbench. The top is cast off butcher block at 74” x 24” and 1.75” thick ($80 – thanks for the tip Dominic!). The legs are 4x4 fir from Lowes attached with 2x6 fir stretchers using butt joints reinforced with threaded 3/8”steel truss rods and dowels to prevent twisting ($120). I have an old quick release vice for the front vice (free) and a Veritas twin screw on order ($220). Okay, a little more than $175 when you count the Veritas, but that can be used in the future.