PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed from sliding table saw owners

Jordan Lane
09-14-2011, 3:36 PM
I am a semi pro wood worker (some cabinet work, furniture, and one offs) who desires to upgrade my table saw (PM 66) for several reasons. I am looking at a SS and a sliding table saw. I think the safety of the sliding table saw is pretty close to the SS and offers a few advantages over a traditional table saw. However, I have never used a sliding table saw and need some advice from experienced users. Ripping using the traditional fence appears to be awkward with the slider undercarriage sticking out on the left hand side which is where I normally stand, how do you slider guys rip? How do you do tenon work on the slider? How do you rip narrow strips on a slider? Will a 8 foot slider be big enough to process a sheet of plywood? How does one do many of the things on a slider that I perform routinely on a traditional table saw? Do you wish you had not made the switch to a slider and if so why? Sorry for all the questions but it’s a big investment to step up to a slider and I don’t have access to one to use to help my comfort level. I have seen a few in a few in person but the cabinet and furniture companies were too busy to really spend any time with me and answer my questions. Any input or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Ryan Hellmer
09-14-2011, 3:52 PM