PDA

View Full Version : Question on Link belts



jeff nist
02-24-2012, 12:07 PM
I've been thinking about those link belts lately for my bandsaw and lathe. I'm pretty sure the bandsaw is a no brainer, but can I put one on my lathe too? I have a jet 1642 EVS and a Rikon 14" bandsaw...

any advice would be most appreciated!

Thanks!

Jeff

Cecil Walborn
02-24-2012, 12:37 PM
I use the link belt on my treadle lathe and it has a lot of traction with no slipping. I used it on an electric lath before that with not slipping. I think they are very good belts. You just have to make sure that they fit in the pulleys as a belt should. For me I would use one if it fits the pulleys good. I think they will last longer then most belt that are used and with little ware on them.

Cecil

Steve Schlumpf
02-24-2012, 1:19 PM
Jeff - I have been using a link belt on my Jet 14" bandsaw for years and it is still holding up strong. I don't understand the reasoning for a link belt on your Jet 1642.... your Jet doesn't use a pulley like on the bandsaw and requires a special belt.

Jamie Donaldson
02-24-2012, 1:56 PM
I have used them for many years on bandsaws, tablesaw, 2 lathes, and I watch for them to be placed on sale at Woodcraft so that I have a supply in stock when needed. I am known to be phrugal, but one of their biggest assets is not needing to disassemble a machine to replace the broken belt.

John Altberg
02-24-2012, 2:01 PM
Can these belts be used in the reeves drive on my Jet 1442?

John

Bob Bergstrom
02-24-2012, 2:46 PM
Ran one on my old Delta 450 with mechanical reeves drive. It actually had one regular belt and on link. No problems.

Can these belts be used in the reeves drive on my Jet 1442?

John

jeff nist
02-24-2012, 4:22 PM
Thanks for all the replies. I'll definitely get one for the bandsaw...As for the lathe...Steve, I don't really have a reason as to why I was asking. Just curious if it would improve the performance...Not that there are any issues with it, but thought if I could get more out of it with a new belt, why not?! But now that you mention it, the pulley is different which is why I was wondering if the link belt would work, or if I shouldn't bother with it...??

Will Winder
02-24-2012, 4:41 PM
It looks like your Jet 1642 has a serpentine belt, I've always considered them better than V pulleys or link belts. Also the pulleys probably wouldn't even work with a V-belt.

ray hampton
02-24-2012, 8:12 PM
It looks like your Jet 1642 has a serpentine belt, I've always considered them better than V pulleys or link belts. Also the pulleys probably wouldn't even work with a V-belt.

what is the different between serpentine belts and V belts

Mike Campbell KS
02-24-2012, 8:40 PM
what is the different between serpentine belts and V belts

The serpentine belt is probably flat and may use both sides of the belt. It turns flat pulleys or idlers. The v belt is shaped like a V or wedge if you were to look at it from a cross section. It turns grooved pulleys.

ray hampton
02-24-2012, 10:05 PM
The serpentine belt is probably flat and may use both sides of the belt. It turns flat pulleys or idlers. The v belt is shaped like a V or wedge if you were to look at it from a cross section. It turns grooved pulleys.
now I got to inspect the belt on mine truck to see whehter it is a serpentine or V belt

Art German
02-24-2012, 10:29 PM
The Jet 1642 has a micro-v belt not a serpentine belt.

jeff nist
02-25-2012, 8:47 AM
Okay, looks like I'm now confused! The belt on the Jet lathe and on the Rikon bandsaw look very similar as do the pulleys. the pulleys have a number of grooves in them and it appears that the belts are flat. So having said that, would the v-link belts work in either of these machines, or both, or neither? Sounds like I really don't need it for the lathe, but that it would benefit the bandsaw...Just don't want to go spend 30 bucks on one if it won't work so I figured I'd see what the pros thought.

Thanks!

Jeff

Doug Herzberg
02-25-2012, 10:00 AM
Jeff, when I was shopping for band saws last fall, I noticed the Rikon 14" had a flat drive belt. If yours is set up this way, I don't think a link belt will fit, but I don't really know much about link belts except that they're expensive and everyone likes them better than v-belts.