PDA

View Full Version : Woodworking business

Paul B. Cresti
01-21-2004, 2:13 PM
So how many of you guys/gals have started some type of woodworking business or derivative of? and how are you doing?

Mark Singer
01-21-2004, 2:17 PM
Just a pastime! Having a great time!
Mark

Todd Burch
01-21-2004, 2:22 PM
I have. I started professionaly April 2003. In a nutshell, I'm broke. But, I'm also not looking for anything else, and my outlook is that my situation is going to get much better, and if it doesn't, it's my fault!!

Todd

Kurt Aebi
01-21-2004, 2:27 PM
Like Mark, Just a hobby.

Have fun and keep posting, these guys are a mountain of information!

Don Farr
01-21-2004, 2:32 PM
As slow as I am if I had to do this for a living I would starve to death.
Maybe when I retire for a little extra cash. :D

Dan Bussiere
01-21-2004, 2:47 PM
Wow, I couldn't imagine anyone paying for the stuff I make. Evening and weekends when I can. When I was young, I wanted to be a mechanic. I did and now I hate it because it became work instead of fun. Thank God I retired from that career in the military. No thanks, I leave the hobby alone.
Dan

Steve Roxberg
01-21-2004, 2:48 PM
For fun only, maybe when I retire a few odd jobs at my leisure.

Bob Lasley
01-21-2004, 3:00 PM
Paul,

I did woodworking professionally off and on, mostly part time. Most of the money I made was used to upgrade and purchase additional tools. I found that most people want you to build cabinets, bookcases, etc. and they want it by a certain time. I rapidly tired of building cabinets, bookcases, etc. and working under a deadline. I have sworn off woodworking for hire, although there is still one project hanging out there, and now build what I want to build (or SWMBO wants me to build) when I want to build it.

I have to agree with the others, keeping woodworking a hobby is much more fun!

Bob

Dennis Peacock
01-21-2004, 3:20 PM
Paul,