PDA

View Full Version : Can You Vouch for Whiteside Router Bits?

Ken Stevens
09-06-2007, 5:47 PM
I have read the FWW article testing router bits and its reco that Whiteside was the best (given the test conditions, etc). Can you comment from personal experience that these are good bits?

Yes, it depends on the task...I am a beginner but wanting to get into somewhat simple children's furniture (gifts not mfg - :) ). I have some Rockler bits now but as I expand, it seems like going in the Whiteside direction is wise.

The Woodworkdersworld.net router store seems to have pretty good prices compared with the limited other sources I have found. Is this a good place to buy them?

Thanks for your comments.
Ken

Greg Crawford
09-06-2007, 5:51 PM
Ken,

I've been using Whiteside bits for several years on different types of wood, and they have always done a good job for me. Good, smooth cuts and seem to last as well as any CMT or Amana I've ever had.

Jason Beam
09-06-2007, 5:51 PM
I can absolutely vouch for Whiteside bits. Without a doubt. I can't say a single bad thing about 'em. The only time I've had an unexpected result with my whiteside bits is when i did something stupid like ... oh ... smack into aluminum with it ... or worse, nails! :doh:

I haven't found a single task that a whiteside bit couldn't tackle if properly used (multiple shallow passes, proper feed direction, keeping the metal away, etc).

Chuck Lenz
09-06-2007, 5:53 PM
Woodpeckers sells them also.

scott spencer
09-06-2007, 5:54 PM
I'd guess my collection is up to 50-60 total bits now, and the Whitesides are arguably the finest I own....Infinity, Freud, and CMT are awfully good too. The Whitesides are American made, widely recognized, available many places, thick carbide, etc. Really nice bits....