PDA

View Full Version : Cutting w/an Engraver

Phil Wolf
06-10-2008, 11:50 AM
I'm new to the world of lasers, so I thought that I might pose a question for all of you out there that have much more experience than I do.

I wish to fixture some foam shapes and cut them out. The problem that I'm having trouble with is that these shapes aren't flat, rather they are shaped similar to a "Pringle" potato chip. I've had discussion with several companies, some of which don't think that it will be an issue and other's that are telling me that it won't work.

I know that I'm somehow going to have to program the Z-axis, continuously alter the focal point, or extend the focal length (if that's the correct term) in order to allow the laser to cut along the contour without moving anything else.

I've attached some photo's for reference.

Any thoughts, ideas, input?

Phil

David Fairfield
06-10-2008, 12:20 PM
Hi Phil

I don't know of anything in the driver that allows the laser to change the focus on the fly.

However, the laser doesnt always need to be in precise focus to cut. Results will vary depending on the material.

Speaking of materials, looks like you have vac formed styrene. Styrene doesn't cut very well in a laser. You can do it, but it tends to melt and re-heal so you wont get crisp cuts as you do with wood. And if you're going in and out of focus, I expect the styrene problems will be greater.

You may want to consider a process where the material is cut flat first, then formed?

Dave

Phil Wolf
06-10-2008, 12:35 PM
Perhaps I should be more specific in the materials department. We are using a 4# polyethylene foam which is formed in a mold after being heated. aka, we put a foam sheet into an oven and let it warm up, then place it into a mold, and then squeeze it with a press. The foam then retains the shape of the mold once it has cooled.

David Fairfield
06-10-2008, 12:47 PM