PDA

View Full Version : I'm new and looking to buy

Kevin Coad
06-18-2008, 11:31 PM
Looking to buy and engraving system. Either rotary or laser engraver. I'm leaning toward a Laser engraver. I'm planning on working mainly with wood. mostly text but would like to put in some 3d images on my pieces. (for retirees; shadow boxes) I'm reluctant to buy because I dont know where to find; or who builds quality machines? What programs are more user friendly? Where to get inexpensive 3d artwork? are there programs to create your own 3d artwork? I'm new at this and apologize because these may be a dumb questions. I would appreciate any info anyone would be willing to part with.
thanks in advance
-Kevin-

Rodne Gold
06-19-2008, 2:47 AM
Too general a Q to respond to properly , however , luckily , most of the issues you want answered have been extensively covered in this forum.
Type in a few of your terms in the search engine and start reading......literally 100's of posts to go thru.

Stephen Beckham
06-19-2008, 7:04 AM
Agree with Rodne - but I'll add on that maybe you're going in the wrong direction. The Laser or the Rotary Engraver will not suffice for helping with woodworking except to put surface changes on there. Problem with that is if you are focused on shadow boxes - well the only surface to work with is the sides, bottom and top - hanging on the wall - your accents will be barely noticed.

You may be better off and more affordable to start with a small CNC router or the new one that sears has for $1K. They will allow you to cut, shape, notch, mold your shadow box to help the production of the shadow box more than putting accents on it. They will also allow you to do some fancy 3D work on the sides as a bonus. They'll help you with making some decent plaques as well.

Then the obvious - $1K versus $12K-15K - easier to get into it with quicker returns - then step up to a laser down the road.