Thread: Waiting...

Waiting...

I'm waiting and reading and watching videos. I just contributed to this site and made my guy do it, too.

Today, he ran conduit around the two-car garage that will soon be our woodworking shop. For Christmas, I gave him a Grisly, Cyclone, 2-horse power vacuum sucker. We have seven other machines, one of which is a lathe. His father used to do woodworking (now near 80 years old) and passed on many of his tools to my guy (Marples, from Sheffield, England -- totally unused from whenever they were bought - probably between 30 and 50 years ago). I am confiscating them because I am going to be turning. As soon as he finishes the electrical stuff, running 110 and 220 outlets where we need them in the new workshop (sorry, but the word 'studio' will be reserved for when I become rich and famous-- hahahahahahahahah!!!), then I'll be a newbie here.

Seriously, I've been lurking and my guy has been sending me your turning projects which I think are fabulous.

Lurking and waiting and watching. I can't WAIT until it all comes together.

with much fascination and in total awe,

K S

where are you, there are clubs around the usa and world, you might want to get some safety tips and turning tips to start out with

viedos are good too, and some of the woodworking stores have demos

good luck and be safe dust is bad

Welcome Kristi to SMC. Lots of good people and lots of knowledge. I agree with Charlie that if you have a woodturning club or a woodcraft, etc. that you could take some turning lessons at it would be a big advantage. DVD's and video's are also good. I am self taught and have probably 15 to 18 DVD's that I have watched many, many times then go practice. Keith Rowley's book Woodturning A Foundation Course with companion DVD is excellent. Here is a link.

http://www.woodturnerscatalog.com/st..._kr_wafc?Args=

Have fun and be safe.
    Bernie

Never put off until tomorrow what you can do the day after tomorrow.