Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hand Plane Questions

Hand Plane Questions

After my last project, I swore that I never wanted to sand again! This resulted in purchasing a couple of card scrapers and some hand planes, including the Veritas Cabinet Scraper, Veritas No. 4 1/2 smoothing plane, Vertias low angle block plane, and a cheap spokeshave, which works but will be replaced in the future (probably with a Veritas model).

Now, I've learned how to use the scrapers with the aid of the Veritas variable angle burnishing took, which I love.

Over the past two weeks, I have begun a new project, with the intent of hand planing for a variety of purposes, including smoothing. I have spent a ton of time using the No. 4 1/2, and I now have a few questions:

1. When begnining a cut, I am getting a significant amount of snipe. It seems no mater what I try, there is always some snipe at the beginning. Is there a way to eliminate this snipe? I know I am just beginning, but I have read a ton of books and materials (I have on-line FWW access), and I did not come across any discussions of hand plane snipe.

2. I am doing the best I can in planing with the grain, but the White Ash I have seems to have a lot of grain reversal, so I am getting significant tear-out in some areas with the 4 1/2. I am coping with the tear out as best I can by changing directions, but there are always areas to clean up with the scraper. What is counter-intuitive to me is that when I use my low-angle block plane over the areas that tear-out with the 4 1/2, I usually get less tear out. I think this might be to blade sharpness, but I'm not sure. Is Ash a wood that is expected to have a lot of tear out? Is there a way to reduce tear-out as much as possible?