Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: craftsman 149.23871 lathe question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Clintonville, WI
    Posts
    69

    craftsman 149.23871 lathe question

    Hello,

    My father-in-law had this old craftsman (model 149.23871) up in the rafters of his shed. I decided to rescue it this morning, but know NOTHING about lathes or turning, but would like to learn. I'm not sure I have all of the parts. Is it worth cleaning up and putting it to use or is it good for scrap? Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Aurora, Co.
    Posts
    391
    Without any description of the lathe and the parts that you rescued It would be a real crap shoot to tell you weather or not you should try to bring it back to a full working lathe again. If you could post a picture of the lathe and the equipment that came with it we may be able to give you some advise. I know that old iron is sometimes better than the stuff that is comming out today.

  3. #3
    I don't know that lathe by the number but I'm guessing it's the old craftsman tube lathe, it has a long steel tube instead of parallel ways. But anyway, if it turns on when you flip the switch and the tailstock quill isn't all rusted tight I'd say it's good to go. They have a 3/4" x 16tpi spindle with a #1 morse taper in both the spindle shaft and the tailstock. You can get centers, chucks, and faceplates easily if any of that is missing. Fire it up and take it for a spin.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Clintonville, WI
    Posts
    69

    picture of lathe

    Here is a picture of the lathe. I don't know what I'm missing actually?? Forgive me for being lathe illiterate!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Longview WA
    Posts
    9,460
    It looks like what you will not be missing is a few bruises when the lady of the house sees what you did to her freezer.

    jim

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    HARVEY, MI. NEXT TO STEVE SCHLUMPF
    Posts
    1,735

    ????lathe!

    Whether it is the old twin tube, four foot bed lathe, or the mono tube lathe, many of us cut our shavings teeth on one of those. They can be underpowered, and difficult to get ascessories for. But I personaly turned on one for too many years. Good luck on whatever you decide to do. We'll be waiting for pictures.
    Bob

  7. #7
    If you go to Sears Parts http://www.searspartsdirect.com/

    and search on that model number, you will get a diagram and parts list

    Hope this helps

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Clintonville, WI
    Posts
    69
    The freezer is an oldie but it still keeps kicking. Probably an energy eater too. As long as it keeps meat cold, we don't care what it looks like!

    I don't know what I'll do. He just told me he had a lathe up in the rafters and I thought I would check it out. I'm not married to the lathe just his daughter! If it isn't worth it, back up in the rafters it can go!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    1,111
    If it runs give it a try. I learned on a Dunlap that did not look that much different. Still have a lot to learn even tho the lathe has changed.

  10. #10
    the craftsmen wood lathe 149-23871 is ok, the tailstock is the problum in the way it's tied down with just one screw, I made a bracket that encases the back of the tailstock and ties both sides of the tubes down as well as the center screw. this keeps the lathe from rocking and moving around, you can go further by replacing the tubes with solid steel bars to make the whole unit very rigid if needed. A good point about this lathe is that you can extend it without to much effort, but in doing so the steel bars would be needed. I myself like the unit and with the above modifactions it works very well for my intended use.
    In closing it all depends and what you are able to spend and the applacations you need a lathe for.
    Last edited by Don Booth; 10-29-2011 at 9:25 PM.

  11. #11
    if you plug it in, does it turn? Do the headstock & tailstock line up? if so you have a lathe. You can turn spindles 'til you drop. My first lathe was a springpole I made. this has gotta beat that!! I made chair parts on mine & it did just fine.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Belden, Mississippi
    Posts
    2,146
    It will be for rather light duty turning. Good lathe to start with, and it'll teach ya some of the tricks.
    Get some starter tools, maybe even a Harbor Freight set, learn to sharpen 'em properly, and turn away.
    I did a lot of turning on a very similar lathe.
    Bill
    On the other hand, I still have five fingers.

Similar Threads

  1. Harbor Freight Lathe question.
    By Ken Miller in forum Turner's Forum
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-26-2008, 8:26 PM
  2. Yet another new lathe question. General 160-2
    By Fred Childs in forum Turner's Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-19-2008, 4:33 PM
  3. Newbee Question on Lathe purchase
    By Don Warren in forum Turner's Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-31-2008, 7:57 PM
  4. Craftsman lathe 1 or 2 MT?
    By Dave Lehnert in forum Turner's Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-21-2007, 4:57 PM
  5. treadle lathe construction question
    By David Scarborough in forum Neanderthal Haven
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-13-2005, 7:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •