Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Coloring glass

Coloring glass

I am an teacher that has been asked to laser engrave the prom glasses for the high school this year. One of the question asked was if the engraving could be colored. I was not sure so I am asking if anyone has done this. If so how is it done and where to get the dye from.
    Thanks
    Ed

You can color fill after engraving - looks great.
    Tim
    There are Big Brain people & Small Brain people. I'm one of the Big Brains - with a lot of empty space.- me
    50W Fiber - Raycus/MaxPhotonics - It's a metal eating beast!
    Epilog Fusion M2 50/30 Co2/Fiber - 2015
    Epilog Mini 24 – 35watt - 2006 (Original Tube)
    Ricoh SG3110DN
    - Liberty Laser LLC

Ed it is possible to paint an engraved piece of glass using special paint which can be purchased from an art/craft shop. How good they will look is another question.
    Epilog 45w Helix X3/X5 Corel Microflame Generator (flame polisher) Heat Bender

Cermark has a material for etching glass with color. I have not tried it to see the results.

http://www.ferro.com/Our+Products/Gl...g+on+Glass.htm

Jim

You can use Rub n Buff to be found at most craft stores, like Michaels, etc. I use it all the time and it works great. It comes in about 20 different colors. All you do in apply it to the class using a paper towel, make sure you fill the engraved part well, then rub off the excess, your done.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Ray Uebner
    Trotec Speedy 300 45w, Xenetch 1313, Signature 8080 Plus, Baby Lock EM6

Thanks I will try the rub and buff. I looked at the cemark stuff but I have a co2 laser and it will not work with that
    Ed

Glad I was able to give back for all I have received from this forum. I am sure you will like the end result.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Ray Uebner