Thread: Raised Panel Wainscotting Formulas?

Raised Panel Wainscotting Formulas?

I am digging around for some sort of rules of thumb that people use when designing raised panelled wainscotting but am not having much luck. I am wondering about any standard or pleasing ratios of width/height, width of rails, stiles, base etc. I have never done this before but am thinking about tackling it for a small powder room in our house.

The whole thing will be painted so I guess MDF panels with poplar or some other paint grade wood for the rails/stiles is the way to go.

If someone has some links, pointers, advice, pictures, or even a lecture I'd like to hear from them !

Thanks !
    Lewis

Lewis -

This subject has come up before. You may want to search the archives for information on the subject.

Quote Originally Posted by Tom Hargrove View Post
    Lewis -

This subject has come up before. You may want to search the archives for information on the subject.
    I've been running searches but perhaps have not used the "magic" words yet - will keep trying - thanks.

There are some pictures

of a wainscoting project I undertook on my website. www.crookedlittletree.com under room treatments. Not painted but you may be able to determine if the scale is pleasing to your eye.

I have recently completed another room with wainscoting. The ceilings are 12' high with a standard crown molding (4+"), the wainscoting is 8' high with an 8" crown molding to top it off. It is broken into a raised panel on the bottom that is 36" tall and the upper panel is flat. There is a string of LED's inside the channel behind the crown that really makes it a jaw dropper. Should have pictures of this on the website this week or next.

Ed

Quote Originally Posted by Ed Peters View Post
    of a wainscoting project I undertook on my website. www.crookedlittletree.com under room treatments. Not painted but you may be able to determine if the scale is pleasing to your eye.