Thread: Dog feeder with drawer

Dog feeder with drawer

Hi guys,

It's my first post! I am a fairly new woodworker and interested in building an elevated dog feeder with some built in storage. (A drawer.)

I actually found a design on Flickr that I'd love to use as a basis, but because I am not terribly experienced, I'm not sure how this piece is constructed.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/eastvoldcustom/2870616638/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/eastvoldcustom/2869782893/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/eastvoldcustom/2869784671/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/eastvoldcustom/2869787807/

I hope I'm not doing something considered bad form on the forum, but I'd like to reverse engineer this and make one of my own.

Is this just a mitered face frame and otherwise constructed like a base cabinet with a drawer? I don't see any hint of a joint on the top or sides where you can see the face frame attached to the top and sides. It's almost as if those faces join in a bevel/miter.

Other things I am pondering are the moisture/water considerations. (The finish, or water sneaking under the lip of the bowls.) and general rigidity. I could use some stretchers across the bottom and a solid panel for the back face. Extension of the drawer may need to be considered to the piece may not topple over?

Thanks much, if the project piques any interest, I'd love to hear any of your thoughts.

Looking at this some more, this is probably just built from one solid piece of stock beveled at the corners? (See the knot that wraps around the corner.) Hogging out that much material for the bowls must have been fun. (Drill press, cleaned up with a router?) The weight of the piece must solve some of the issues of counterbalancing the drawer when it's opened

Could this look be replicated with thinner stock?

Blog Entries