Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Heating my work shop

Heating my work shop

My work shop is 20' X 22' I'm looking for the best method to heat it during the winter. I live in southeast PA, it can get pretty cold in the winter. I'd like a ceiling mounted heater, not alot of free floor space in my small shop. I was thinking about getting a ceiling mounted propane fired forced air heater or infared heater. Has anyone had any experience with either of these heaters? Any pro or cons of either type, any other suggestions?

Thanks,
    Shawn

I have been using a natural gas Hot Dawg for several years with no problems.
    Wood'N'Scout

I love my woodstove. My shop is 28,x24,, so I have a bit more room. I have a wooded lot with lots of oak, so I cut my own wood. I only used about 1.5 cords to heat it mostly on weekends. It is great for getting rid of saw dust, shavings and the like. You could make use of the smallest stove available with heat to spare.

I have 30X36' shop building that is heated w/ a propane-fired Modine Hot Dawg unit. I keep the themostat set for 50 degrees when I'm not out there. Some say that is still too warm for when not in use, but I have some supplies & equipment that I prefer to keep @ a constant & warmer temp.

The Hot Dawg works quite well, but my building as the max. am't. insualtion installed in the exterior 2x6" walls, the ceiling, & insulated slab & doors, + double pane windows.

You didn't mention insualtion. I think w/o adequate plus insulation, you might find it difficult to keep the buidling warm @ a reasonable cost....

I have a natural gas ceiling mounted unit heater by Lennox. Works fine. I use an old mercury switch thermostat mounted on a single screw so I can tilt the whole body. This lets me set it within a few degrees of freezing.

As others have said, make sure you have the walls and ceiling insulated with appropriate vapour barrier otherwise you're going to spend a lot of money on fuel.