Thread: Angles/procedure for cutting crown molding

Angles/procedure for cutting crown molding

I need to make some wide crown molding but since I haven't done this before I would like to know how you cut your own. I'm sure I could figure it out through trial and error, which I'm sure will happen anyway, but thought I'd see if I can get some tips first.

I need to cover a wide gap between the top of a cabinet and the ceiling--it's about 4" wide. I'm also considering putting a cove on the molding so I also need help using a trapezoid to figure out the feed angle (or any other suggestions for feeding stock through the table saw blade at an angle).

I've been working wood as a hobbyist for 20 years so I know what I'm doing in most woodworking aspects. I'm getting a little hung up on the geometry though. Thanks for the help and if you have any questions or need more information from me just fire away!

Brian

To cut crown flat on a miter saw set your bevel at 33.85 (34 will be close enough) and set your mitre gauge at 31.62 if you have a dewalt or one of the better saws it will have a stop at the 31.62 position. To cut crown the possibalitys are endless but start at 30 degrees with the blade at 90 this gives a simple crown but to get offset and fancy you can put your blade on 45 and trial and error the angle but these are good starting points. Take small cuts no more than 1/8 or less at a time and keep raising the blade till desired depth is achieved usually 3/8. Hope this helped.

Angles