Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hand Plane Poll...

Hand Plane Poll...

Hey Creekers with Callused Hands,
    I am a weekend warrior type woodworker and have an extensive collection of powered cast iron tools. With every project I complete, I find myself needing hand tools to increase the quality of my work. The number one thing that I find myself needing is a few good planes. I often have a glue up panel that just needs the slightest of tweaking to level out a seam or a cope and stick or frame door that needs the slightest trim off the end grain of a stile to even things up for an edge profile rout.

That said…I know NOTHING about hand planes. I’ve read a lot but there is so much random info that I’m overwhelmed. So, I want to poll the professionals. I have determined that I think I need one block plane and one smoothing/jack plane (and a shoulder plane down the road). My questions are these.

1. Can anyone point me to their two favorite planes (for the purposes listed above).
    2. Assuming that I don’t want to spend more than $200 each for these, which ones would you buy?
    3. What is a good sharpening system for under $150 to accompany these bad boys.
    4. If I were to buy a 3rd plane, would a shoulder plane be my best choice? (I do a lot of mortise and tenon work)

Thanks in advance!
    GO POKES!!

My 2 cents:

Block Plane: $20 to $179
    Old Stanley 60-1/2 or
    Lie-Nielsen 102 or
    Lie-Nielsen 60-1/2 or
    Lee Valley Apron or
    Lee Valley DX60

Lee Valley Low Angle Jack: $219
    or an Old Stanley #4 & #5 ($20 to $50 each)

Lee Valley Medium Shoulder Plane (but only by everyone's recommendation - I don't own one): $179

Have fun.

Brian
    Veni Vidi Vendi Vente! I came, I saw, I bought a large coffee!

Blog Entries
    I will second most of what Brian said.