Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Painting Cabinets - Acrylic Confusion

Painting Cabinets - Acrylic Confusion

We're getting ready to paint our (previously pickled oak) cabinets and newly crafted poplar doors and drawers.

The guys at Sherwin Williams recommended ProClassic Waterbourne over PrepRite Classic Primer. I have no experience with their products, so I accepted their recommendation and told them we'd be back to buy some as soon as we picked the color.

Well... I started reading up on the subject and have become thoroughly confused. Doh!

I see from posts here that I should go with 100% Acrylic, which I what I thought the guys had recommended. But their web site says it's "Acrylic Latex", not "100% Acrylic". Their site says the primer is "Interior Latex Primer" but goes on to say "100% Acrylic".

http://www.sherwin-williams.com/pro/...orne/index.jsp
    http://www.sherwin-williams.com/pro/...s/holds_gloss/

So... Is that the right stuff?
    Paul Fitzgerald
    Mid-South Woodworker

S/W Proclassic

I recently renovated the kitchen in the parsonage where we live using the SW Proclassic. Used their primer as well. Turned out great. Sprayed doors and drawer fronts with a 4-stage turbine hvlp system.

Quote Originally Posted by Randy Carnley View Post
    I recently renovated the kitchen in the parsonage where we live using the SW Proclassic. Used their primer as well. Turned out great. Sprayed doors and drawer fronts with a 4-stage turbine hvlp system.
    I wish I could spray them, but I'm not sure I could convince my wife to spend the money for an HVLP system right now. So we'll be brushing.

Did you happen to do any brushing?

Paul
    Paul Fitzgerald
    Mid-South Woodworker

Paul,

I don't know the logic to some of the wording all the companies used. A lot of it happens to be more marketing than product components...

Regardless, I spray the same stuff you were recommended. Fact I did a pure white the other day, which to me is the hardest to spray.