Thread: Chatter/vibration in bowl turning

Unhappy Chatter/vibration in bowl turning

I have been having quite a frustrating time turning bowls. I get a bowl roughed out no problem. However, once it dries and go to finish turn it I have all kinds of trouble with vibration and chattering as I turn. I've tried taking lighter cuts, resharpening the tool, bracing the bowl with my fingers, etc with no significant improvement in chatter.

Anybody have any suggestions?

Thanks,
    Greg

Blog Entries
    I am far from an expert and hopefully one of the experts will chime in here. Dave Smith showed me to use a scraper for the hollowing cuts in dried wood and it worked well. Make ure your tool rest is properly positioned close to the work and at the right height. My level of experinece does not allow me to tell you if you are too high or too low.
    Lee Schierer
    USNA '71
    Go Navy!

My advice, comments and suggestions are free, but it costs money to run the site. If you found something of value here please give a little something back by becoming a contributor! Please Contribute

Chattering

Greg, I also experianced quite a lot of chatter when trying to turn dry wood. I now do almost all my turning with an assortment of scraper tools. It is very important to keep your tool rest as close to the work as practical. I would love to get some time with Bill Gumbine, but I don't have the time to do this right now.