Thread: Hobbyist planer jointer question

Hobbyist planer jointer question

I'm a newbie woodworking hobbyist. Lets just say I'm frustrated with the results from buying S4S at the end of projects. That has led me to thickness planer and jointers. I live in a townhouse and my “shop” is less than half of a small two car garage (I share my half of the garage with bicycles, etc). My subpanel is 2 ˝ storeys up in a bedroom, so wiring for 220V is not currently on the table. With limited space, a hobbyist usage and 110V, I am struggling with some issues.
    There is a 10” Jet jointer/planer combo, but I think it might be too underpowered and not being able to move the fence seems a problem.
    http://woodworking.jettools.com/Prod...10&cat=2560693
    Amazon.com: Jet JJP-10BTOS 10-Inch Jointer/...
    My next choice, despite my space limitations, is to get a separate planer and jointer.
    Planer – I’m trying to choose between the Makita 2012 and the dewalt 735. The main aspect of the Makita that I like is it seems to be quieter and have blades that need replacing less often.
    If I go the separate jointer route, I think I am limited to the 6” Jet or Gris.
    G0654 6" x 46" Jointer
    Amazon.com: JET 708457K JJ-6CSX 6-Inch 1...
    So … opinions/suggestions please.
    1)Jointer/planer combo or go with separate machines?
    2)If separate machines, Makita 2012 vs Dewalt 735 for the planer? Or as a hobbyist would the Dewalt 734 suffice?
    3)Jet vs Griz 6” jointer? Any other jointer suggestions?
    Opinions on machines factoring in my constraints and other aspects such as easy of changes knives later on, etc. would be much appreciated.
    Thanks!

i have been extremely happy with my dw735 its a great planer. great surface quality, 2 speeds, but loud. havent tried any of the others though

Blog Entries