Thread: First Project, Need Advise

First Project, Need Advise

As a fresh-from-the-womb woodworker, I have a glaring need of a workbench and a power tool organizer, and I don't have a lot of space. So, I want to make a cabinet big enough to hold several power tools, with a work surface on top, and locking casters on the bottom. I expect to build a "real" workbench down the road, but I need something to get me started, and I need some help with the design to make sure everything is sound. Since it's my first project I want this to be as inexpensive as possible, but not something that's going to fall apart!!

It starts with a 3/4" piece of plywood for the base, with four casters (not shown in the pictures) screwed into the bottom. The two side panels sit on top of the base, nestled in 3/4" rabbets. Would it be better to do a 1/2" rabbet on the base instead, along with a 1/4" rabbet on the sides, to form kind of a lap joint? (Is there a real term for that?) I would secure this joint with glue, and use screws (from the bottom up) to help hold it in place initially. The back panel would be 1/4" plywood, and would sit in a 1/4" rabbet cut from both side panels and the base. Again, this would be attached with glue, and probably an 18 gauge brad nailer. The face frame would be glued and nailed to the front edges of the two sides and the base, unless there will be a problem with movement?

You can see from the fourth picture that there isn't a lot of "face" for the work surface to sit on top of. Will I need to shore that up? If so, how? Approximate outer dimensions of the carcass, including the face frame, are 36" x 23 1/4", and the work surface is 40" x 28". I don't want a central support in front, because the two shelves need to be able to slide out. How would you attach the top?