Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Box from a Pen Turner

Northwest Montana about 20 miles from Glacier National Park

First Box from a Pen Turner

I have been turning for about a year and half, but until recently only doing pens in all mediums which I love to do. I have successfully done a bowl without punching a hole in the side or bottom, and last night I did my first box, which was a blast. I know there is a ton of things that could have been done better, but I like it, and I gave it to my mom (78) who is visiting and of course she loves it! *LOL*

Please take a look, be gentle, and give me some good constructive criticism which is understandable for a self taught beginner. Thanks, and thanks for this fantastic forum.

DSCN0291.jpg

DSCN0292.jpg

DSCN0294.jpg

DSCN0295.jpg

Rick (mtgrizzly52)

Thumbs up I Looked Pretty Hard!

The only thing I could find to suggest (which could be a photo issue) are the rings on the bottom - They LOOK like they could be sharper, more well defined.
    I like the bump on the top, it's a little subtle from some perspectives, but NICE!
    Change One Thing

Good first effort!

Rick, The shape is nice the wood is a good choice and it looks to me you spent some time on the finish. If the lid fits good then you should be happy with it. The more you do the more involved they will become! I like to recess the bottoms a bit so the are not flat, but I like the rings, I see what looks like some fuzz or tearout in the rings, but that can be fixed with sharper tools and addressing the wood at a different angle. I have the same trouble some time as it is hard to sand those little buggers!

Jeff
    To turn or not to turn that is the question: ........Of course the answer is...........TURN ,TURN,TURN!!!!
    Anyone "Fool" can know, The important thing is to Understand................Albert Einstein
    To follow blindly, is to never become a leader............................................ .....Unknown