Thread: Simple book stand

Simple book stand

Hello all. I'm new to woodworking, though I have some experience with home improvement and rough carpentry projects. I also come from a woodworking family, and grew up in a home where my dad's 1,200 sf basement workshop wasn't nearly big enough for him and the sounds of screeching sawblades often disturbed our poor neighbors late into the night.

Anyway, I thought I'd share my first project, a simple book stand. Made it out of some black walnut I snatched from dad. I love how it darkens up without any stain or dye. Also tried my hand at some basic mortise and tenon joinery. I have thick skin so feel free to be harsh, if necessary.

I think next I'll go for something a little more ambitious...perhaps a writing slope like this one.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Blog Entries
    As they say, form follows function..... Good job!

Very nice job of constructing, Matthew. Question.. are the supports on the walnut? I appear to see lamination lines as in ply but my eyes aren't as good as they used to be.

You did great...
    Sarge..

Woodworkers' Guild of Georgia
    Laissez Les Bons Temps Rouler

John, the supports are also made of solid walnut. The pictures don't seem to show the beaded edge that I routed on both sides of the supports, the bottom of the book ledge, and the main panel. I suppose that this bead looks almost like plywood from the picture, but I hope that's just a camera lighting and angle issue!

Thanks for the clarification on the walnut. I really wasn't sure as the sides of them looked like walnut. It's the way the light affects it. I am certainly no photographer for sure as you will see in the next few days when I post a computer desk-hutch done in the A & C style. I know little about lighting.. or any other how to to keep the picture from not being affected by light. I use a cheapp digital also which doesn't further my cause.