Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Am I gonna regret not buying the old Delta Band Saw?

Am I gonna regret not buying the old Delta Band Saw?

So tonight I find myself in the garage of this questionable guy, in a not-so-good neighborhood, in a less-than-reputable neighboring city. He's selling an old Delta 14" band saw. Wants $150.

It's a very old Delta. Lots of cast iron, made in the USA - no doubting that. Couldn't find a model number anywhere. 3/4 HP motor. Looks very similar to the model listed here on OWWM. The questionable guy bought it used a long time ago but never used it. He replaced the belt. That's it. He started it up and it seemed to run fine. But I'm not sure... No time to research it, no time to check with you guys first. He said he thought it was worth the $150.

I'm new to band saws. Never used one. Just been keeping an eye out for a decent used one locally. I want the ability to resaw, and perhaps use it for miscellaneous tapers and tenons. Not significant resawing but when I want 1/2" stock for a few drawers or panels, I would rather use this than waste a can full of chips from my planer. From what I've found here is the saw will require a new motor, blade, riser block, tires, and whatever cool blocks are. I know... get a book about band saws.

So I tell him what I told you -- it will probably need all of these parts for me to be able to use it. He says "fine, I will call the other guys who are interested in it" and starts walking out of the garage. I tell him thanks anyway and walk to the truck - wondering if I should turn around. I don't. Now I'm home typing this.

So did I make the wrong choice? Am I gonna regret this decision?

Blog Entries
    I don't know much about band saws but I would say trust your gut instincts.

Quote Originally Posted by Shawn Christ View Post