Thread: Turning Tool Holder

Turning Tool Holder

Finally got tired of turning tools rolling around on top of lathe bench. This is not an original idea, saw it discussed somewhere else.
    Computer techies will recoginze the monitor swivel extension arm. Picked up this surplus unit a year ago. Rolling tool agravation and "round-to-its" got in sync tonite. Its three sheets of plywood, gang drilled to hold the tool handles and assembled with 2 x spacers. Since I'm relatively new at this and I can't tell which tool is which just by looking at the handle, I decided to store them tool-side up. This way, I can see which tool I'm looking for. The pics show it retracted/at rest and extended to where I was working on the saucer, posted earlier. Ah, one less agravation.
    Ernie
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Ernie on-the-dry-side; WA

That's a pretty neat idea. Just watch your step around that contraption, you wouldn't want to trip and put an eye out with one of those pointy sticks.

Ernie
    Neat idea- necessity is certainly the mother of invention.
    George

Ernie, well thought out and very functional. Very nice.
    Dick

No Pain-No Gain- Not!
    No Pain-Good

Very nice but you don't have enough holes in it.
    Please help support the Creek.

"It's paradoxical that the idea of living a long life appeals to everyone, but the idea of getting old doesn't appeal to anyone."
    Andy Rooney

Great idea Ernie. I hope you don't mind if I clone it.
    Kent Cori

Half a bubble off plumb

James, pointy sticks, I'll be careful. Idea was I could shove the whole thing out of my immediate work area when I'm sanding or polishing.
    George, yes, necessity. Dick, thank you. It worked out well during my first session.
    Bruce, you're right. There's only room for 7 more turning tools. Need more. By the way, what is that growing out of your head? Looks more like something running around in the woods in Maine, not New Mexico?