Thread: Design input reqested

Design input reqested

Hi,

I have been a lurker here for quite some time, but as a newb I haven't really contributed, just gathered plenty of intel to help make some projects for my family and not injure myself

Since this is my first post, a brief into: I am a SW engineer and have 2 small children so shop time is rare. That being said, I take pride in DIY rather than paying what amounts to usually less money for inferior product and design. I enjoy browsing the forums - especially the projects and design forums for ideas, and hope to be able to get some help, and perhaps contribute when appropriate.

That being said, I'm in a little bit of a quandry for my latest project:

I'd like to build this entertainment center that's in Woodsmith 169.

http://www.plansnow.com/dn1152c.html

Except I plan on using QSWO and doing it in a mission style, and covering up the shelving etc. I really like the look of this piece but I am a little stumped on one aspect.

http://www.missionoakdesigns.com/slide.html?itemsku=LR0014&imagenum=1

The Legs run the whole face of the cabinet which seems to create a faux panel on the side. I am wondering how this was done?? All I can come up with is the legs are part of the base assembly and are rabbeted to accept the carcass. This would leave the 3/4 reveal on the front and side, and then a 3/4 face frame on the carcass makes for a flat look on the front of the cabinet.

Am I reading this correctly? I'm sorry it's hard to explain without a diagram. Opinions please.

Thanks!
    Chris

I'm confused. Are you trying to build the Plansnow design, or the missionoakdesigns design?

From your question, it seems that perhaps you're aiming at the Plansnow one. If that's the case, why not just buy the plans that the site offers? That would give you a definitive answer to your question, and probably many others too.

Quote Originally Posted by Jamie Buxton View Post