Thread: Table saw extension wings

Table saw extension wings

Not too long ago I picked up a Delta contractor saw (36-977) from CL and so far I have been extremely happy with it (heck of an upgrade from my old bench ryobi unit), but I need to replace one of the extension wings and would like to know if there really is a noticable gain from putting in the cast iron ones. The cost doesn't bother me, just want to make sure I'm not wasting money. I am pretty new to using nicer quality tools, when I started wood working a little over a year ago most of my stuff was hand-me-downs and lower quality since I didn't know if I would stick with it. Now that I am really getting into this I have been upgrading things as needed and these stamped wings are starting to irritate. Just about every time I slide the fence back and forth I have to bend them up or down. Is this a sign of previous owner abuse or just the effects of cheap wings?

Any help would be appreciated,

Mike

Mike,
    First, are the wings bolted to the fence rails? They should be, and they should be secure enough that you need not move them every time you move the fence. I would say this could be signs of previous abuse if the bolts are missing or the holes have become elongated. Check that out.
    The biggest advantage to cast iron wings is first the weight to dampen vibration, the second, providing a flatter surface than the stamped metal wings. In my opinion, its worth the upgrade, all other things being equal.
    Measure twice - cut twice - Still TOO short!

Blog Entries

Smile Warped wings?

I had a Delta contractor's saw for 20? Years--sounds like maybe someone lifted it by the wings a bunch. I'd think about adding on an extension table on one side and perhaps a cast iron wing/router table
    if you have a friend at a body shop you might be able to bend one back, but probably not. Bill

Gerry,