Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Drilling straight holes without a drill press?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Drilling straight holes without a drill press?

Like I have said in my first post on this site, I am fairly new to woodworking. Therefore my tool setup is pretty limited especially when it comes to large machinery. I do not own a drill press and really can't afford one at the moment. What is the best way to drill consistantly straight holes with a hand-held drill?

Practice, practice, practice!

Two ideas. One, do you have a speed square or other right angle tool? If so, place it it front of your drill and line up your drill so it is lined up in all directions (left/right, front /back). Second, Sears and others make a little drill press attachment that you hook on to any power drill. I have one, I think it cost $25 and it has saved my neck countless times. Here is one:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00004T82L

3rd idea;
    Take a metal or plastic mirror and drill a hole in the center.
    Put it over where you want to drill and align to plumb using the mirror.
    Never, under any circumstances, consume a laxative and sleeping pill, on the same night

If you're drilling horizontally, try using a drill with a built in level. The bubble will line you up vertically, and it is not too hard to line yourself up horizontally by eye.

I use a device similar to the one that Dan K posted. Mine does not have the tilting option. I usually use mine in places where straight holes are critical. I am lousy at drilling straight with a hand held drill and have recently observed a few professionals that aren't any better.
    David B

Quote Originally Posted by David G Baker View Post