Thread: Size wire for underground feed to shop?

Size wire for underground feed to shop?

I have a detached shop about 75 feet from the house. It is currently fed by overhead triplex. I need to move the line underground and the path with be about 190 feet because I will need to avoid a huge concrete pad and then make a 40 foot emt run to get to the panel. Will #4 triplex work? An electrician friend indicated (offhand) that #4 could be direct buried and would handle 100 amps. Thoughts? Ideas? How deep do I need to trench? 18 inches adequate?
    Thanks

I'm no electrician, but #4 is a little light - most ampacity charts state #4's capacity to be under 90 amps - and that's for 90 degree C copper! To be safe, I would think you want a minimum of #2 (95 amps for 60 degree and 115 amps for 75 degree wires, respectively).

The other consideration is the distance you need to go - you may have to go even larger to avoid any significant voltage drop! I have seen an online calculator for this, but can't find it at the moment. Perhaps some other Creeker can provide a link to it.

Here in Taxachusetts, my local code calls for a minimum of 18" depth of trench, unless you either put down a 2" cap of concrete over direct burial wire, or you pull wire through rigid steel conduit - and then you can bury to 12" deep. When I ran power to an shed several years ago (only 20 amp, 120 v for lights and a single outlet, but over 220'), I ran 10 gauge wire pulled through PVC conduit buried at 20-24" deep. My building inspector looked at only the first five feet and signed off in a heart beat. YMMV.

Cheers,

Brian
    Last edited by Brian Backner; 11-19-2009 at 7:12 AM. Reason: Added trenching info

check local codes, but mine is #4 feeding a 100 amp and i ran it in pvc buried 18" deep, subfed from my 200amp in the house.

Here you have to bury it 24". Check with your local inspector!