Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thickness Planer decision?

Thickness Planer decision?

I am in the market for a new thickness planer. This will be my first planer I have ever owned and used. I am a new woodworker and have found that using wood that is unplaned is next to impossible. I would love to have a jointer as well but cannot afford both peices of equipment at the moment. Therefore I have decided that purchasing a planer first would be more reasonable. Is this thinking correct or should I look at purchasing in the other order? My budget isn't huge, around $500. I have really been considering the Ridgid model as it seems to be a lot of tool at a decent price. Any reccomendations for other models or comments on the Ridgid would be a huge help. Looking at reviews really doesn't help me much as most of them are posted right after they purchase the tool and tells me nothing about the durability of the tool. I think I would get more out of posting the question here where people have real world experiences with their tools. Any help on this decision would be a huge help.

You made the right decision.
    A planer can be used as a jointer with a sled.
    I'm partial to the Dewalt 735 planer. Keep an eye on Craigslist and you might find both tools for what you want to spend.
    Never, under any circumstances, consume a laxative and sleeping pill, on the same night

IMHO you should get the jointer before the planer. Even though you can get pretty good clean edges on a table saw the jointer does a great job so gluing up panels, etc is easy.

A jointer was one of the first tools I got and I am looking for a planer now and I've been poking around for 15 years or so. The main reason to get a planer now is so I can buy rough sawn wood in bulk and plane it to save some money.

Tony,