Thread: Tearout on inside of segmented bowl

1. Tearout on inside of segmented bowl

Hey guys,

I've been doing segmented turning for about 2 years now, as a nice hobby and to make gifts for people.

Recently, I've been trying to hone my skill in a number of areas, and slowly but surely I'm getting better at a lot of things. But one thing that I can't seem to avoid is a peculiar tearout that occurs only on the inside of a segmented vessel: usually right at the point where two segments meet. Hopefully you guys know what I'm referring to.

I'm not sure how to avoid this, and its very hard to get rid of. I think one of the main problems is just that I have an old lathe, (1980s craftsman), and I can't really get any other tool rests, such as an S-curve one for doing the inside of bowls.

I try to use the bowl gouge for most inside work, but I also use some round scrapers too. I don't think I always have the angle right though---possible relating to the straight tool rests and the poor angle of the tool. I'm not 100% sure what is causing the tearout. I try to keep my tools pretty sharp.

Any pointers?
    Eric Meier

I Shellac.

I would try grinding a scraper to fit the curve of the bowl and sharpen it right befor you take last VERY light cut. Also make sure you keep the edge of the scrapper at or slightly above the center line and tipped just a touch so the burr can take a very fine cut.
    Duff

Rember: Experience is what you get just after needed it.

Eric, I have experienced the same thing. I believe it is not tear out but a vibration as you try to turn near the edge of the bowl half. The vibration causes the gouge or scraper to bounce causing irregular scooping looking much like tearout. I solved my problem by placing a bowl steady rest right behind where I am turning. This eliminates the vibration and allows a smooth cut. Hope this helps.

Eric,