Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Dry fit: Shaker Night Stand - African Mahogany

Dry fit: Shaker Night Stand - African Mahogany

Been working on this for a while. It's the first in a pair of his-and-hers Shaker Style night stands, both being made from African Mahogany.

I'm a very new woodworker. I may have bitten off a touch more than I can chew, in this project ... BUT ... it's going okay.

Early on, I made a decision NOT to build any parts of the first and second night stand at the same time. I did this so that I could be sure to transfer any learnings gained from #1 TO #2.

And there have certainly been learnings

This is dry-fit mode on #1. It's all M&T joinery. The drawer faces are not yet attached. Nor is the top. Likely, I'll use Watco Danish Oil to finish it off ... if I ever get to that point

Thanks for looking!

That looks like your off to an outstanding start!! I love the design and your choice of wood.

I'm really looking forward to the finished pictures.

Well done!!
    If you can't fix it with a hammer, you have an electrical problem.

Blog Entries
    You may have bitten off a lot but you seem to be chewing it well. Nice work. Can't wait to see the finished pics.

Nice!

That's a really nice design that looks like it's coming along very well! I love the details you put into it like the through tenons and the curve in the bottom stretcher. That wood is really gonna shimmer when you put a finish on it!

Looks good. Neat design. The next one should go faster!

Neil, for a new woodworker, you have taken on quite a difficult project. Mastering so many new techniques on one of your first projects is challenging, particularly on an expensive wood like mahogany. But, you are doing well.

I like the style, and you are including some very nice elements. The only change that I can see is that I may have preferred the side panel grain to run vertically. But, what you have done looks nice, and may have maximized your material.

Blog Entries