Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jet 1642evs 1.5 hp versus 2 hp

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Jet 1642evs 1.5 hp versus 2 hp

I have been looking at the Jet and the Grizzly G0698 and between the availability problems with the Grizzly and the recent sale at Toolnut. I think I am going with the Jet. My question is do you really need the 2 hp option. I was wondering if anyone is having any second thoughts that had went with the 1.5 hp option. I am not a production type turner just an obsessed hobbyist. There is a $300 price tag for that extra half horse so that is a few nice accessories but well worth the extra price if needed.

Thanks for any input.

If you where going to at some time core out bowl blanks the extra HP would be a plus. when you are turning bigger bowl . Depends what you are going to do , if its pens and small boxes I wouldnt spend the extra money.

George - I think this is more of a personal decision than anything else. I have the 2 hp Jet and decided on that size motor so that I could grow into the lathe - not out of it. I wanted the power - just in case - something in my future turning would require it - like coring bowls.

In my case, I chose the Jet over the Powermatic because I could not afford the Powermatic - but at least I could have the same size motor. Most everyone I have read that upgrades does it so they have more swing and additional power to handle the larger blanks. My biggest fear at the time was to buy a new lathe and then kick myself later for getting something underpowered.

I have heard numerous 1 1/2 hp Jet owners that are happy with their decision. I have not heard of anyone yet that was unhappy with their new 2 hp lathe because it had too much power.

Lots of luck with your decision! Looking forward to seeing your gloat - no matter which lathe!
    Steve

“You never know what you got til it's gone!”
    Please don’t let that happen!
    Become a financial Contributor today!