Thread: Oasis 8 inch Jointer Knockoff of Delta

Question Oasis 8 inch Jointer Knockoff of Delta

Hi everyone, I am a newbie.

I am looking to get rid of my 25 year old 6 inch craftsman jointer which can not give me a good glueable edge (leaves gaps, maybe out feed table misadjusted?) to an 8 inch jointer. Looked at Jet, Delta, Shopfox, general,sunhill, wilke, and King Canada. I noticed that Toolmarts in San Diego carried shopfox so I called them to drive down 110 miles to look at them. They told me they also carry a knockoff that looks like a Delta, it is called Oasis. Has anyone bought one of these and if so how do you like it. You can view this at http://www.toolmarts.com/specials.html.

Thanks for any input

Gary
    Last edited by Gary Sostrin; 11-06-2004 at 10:48 AM. Reason: missspelling

Gary, I see that this is your first posting at Saw Mill Creek. Welcome!

You may have noticed from the thread http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=13485 that I am also in the market for and 8" jointer. So, I will be very interested in the responses to the thread that you have started.

Quote Originally Posted by Gary Sostrin
    Hi everyone, I am a newbie.

I am looking to get rid of my 25 year old 6 inch craftsman jointer which can not give me a good glueable edge (leaves gaps, maybe out feed table misadjusted?) to an 8 inch jointer. Looked at Jet, Delta, Shopfox, general,sunhill, wilke, and King Canada. I noticed that Toolmarts in San Diego carried shopfox so I called them to drive down 110 miles to look at them. They told me they also carry a knockoff that looks like a Delta, it is called Oasis. Has anyone bought one of these and if so how do you like it. You can view this at http://www.toolmarts.com/specials.html.
    Hi Gary,

Welcome to the 'Creek.

Personally, when looking for any tool I avoid no-name brands if there are respected name brands in the same price neighborhood.