Thread: New Member, PC 16ga Nailer Question

New Member, PC 16ga Nailer Question

Hi Folks -
    I'm a new member here. Thanks to Chris Padilla for introducing me to the board. Just what I need, another online forum to keep me from work! :-)

I'm an amateur carpenter, remodeler currently working on a whole house remodel of my 1962 modern home in the Santa Cruz mountains of California. Progress is slow, but I'm learning alot. So far I've done alot of demolition, wiring, insulation, and drywall work. I'm anxious for the finish carpentry and kitchen cabinet construction, but that's a long ways off.

So, for my first question. I have an FN250B 16ga PC nailer that I broke out this weekend to trim out some doors. I find that I only get a nail with every other pull of the trigger. This is 100% consistent behavior of this gun. I've never used one before, but I think this should not be the case.

When trimming out a vertical surface, casing on a door, on the first pull I get a dimple from the "hammer", I pull back on the safety, press in again, pull and I get a fastener. Any ideas why this is? The manual's troubleshooting section is no help.

I'm using PC fasteners and the pancake compressor that came with the kit.

Thanks in advance!

Jeff

Hey Jeff...good to see you posting and welcome...hopefully you'll get some good replies. Any luck contacting PC?
    Wood: a fickle medium....

Did you know SMC is user supported? Please help.

Something is sticking in it probably. Have you gave it a good oiling?
    Second thought. Are you releasing the trigger before firing another nail?
    These are not rapid fire guns. The trigger needs to be released each time.

Hi Jeff -

Welcome t the Creek. A great place to hang out and exchange ideas (and otherwise avoid actual work. )