Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with cutting small strips?

Help with cutting small strips?

I was making a cutting board the other day with my grizzly 1023sl with a freud 50 tooth combo blade. This is my first project on this saw. When i cut the thinner strips the leading and trailing edges were tapered. The smallest strips were about 3/16" wide. It happened on the wider strips (1/2") but not as bad. What could cause this? the strips were about 16" long and the taper was about 2 to 3" front and back. The middle sections were fine. These were rip cuts. Thanks !!!

Blog Entries
    More info please! Were you

- handfeeding?
    - handfeeding with jig / hold downs?
    - ripping?
    - crosscutting?
    - Feed rate?

Quickly handfeeding will cause inaccuracies. I would suggest using some form of hold down, sliding table, or crosscut sled (depending on the cut you're making). If you want super-accuracy then cut the pieces a bit large, tape them down to a board and run them through a drum sander.

Sounds like a job for my Boob Jig. (ok - I re-invented it from a more expensive Rockler one)

This Tread: http://sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=133656

This thread also discussing what you are trying to accomplish, I think.

My jig is almost at the end. This thread also shows the Rockler one...

Greg, I experimented with different feed rates but the results weren"t very different. The taper wasn't real consistant so it was hard to pin point the problem. I was handfeeding using the rip fence and a bench dog push stick making rip cuts. I don't have a drum sander so that is out the question. Is this a common problem? I was wondering if it could be a dull blade? Do I need a better blade for this?

Dennis, I forgot about your jig. Thanks for posting and I plan on building one but I don't think that would solve my tapering problen would it?
    Last edited by Tullie Templet; 04-19-2010 at 2:06 PM.