Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best HVLP system?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Best HVLP system?

Having a nightmare finishing cabinet doors... I get too much run-over to the bottom edge of the doors.

And I have a big house painting job this summer. I'm a hobbyist but occasionally I do something like a hardwood floor or wall of custom milled paneling.

So, I'm looking at a system that will handle paint as well as fine furniture.

Jeff Jewitt, who I very much respect, suggests his Fuji Super 4 system. It seems pretty nice and I'm very tempted to pull the trigger and buy from him even though I can get it cheaper from Amazon. I wonder if the extra $100 bucks for the Q4 Gold is worth the decrease in noise.

But, I wanted to ask you guys. I see a pretty interesting system from Graco and I wonder about the utility of the ProComp Accessory Pack that allows separating the gun from the material cup... Not sure what that gets me beyond the 3M PPS material cups that I can add to the Fuji.

Ideas?

Other systems that you guys like?

Cameron Reddy

I have a 4 stage apollo unit with 5 sizes of nozzles/needles. Works well. The newer apollo ones have both a bottom and top feed gun, mine only a bottom feed. Have not tried the others, but mine works well.
    George

I have a Graco HVLP and like it for finishing. It's great for cabinets ans such. To paint a house - its the wrong tool - get (rent) an airless. I don't have any first hand knowledge of the Fuji but hear good things about them.

I'm getting the idea. The HVLP is the wrong tool for a house. It can be done, I understand, but it makes no sense. Use a roller and brush or get a more appropriate system.