Thread: "Custom" Classic Tools Fun

Talking "Custom" Classic Tools Fun

Hi folks,
    This is my first post - have been reading your great messages for a while. By way of introduction, I have been an amateur wood carver, carpenter, and traditional woodworker for about the last 30 years (unfortunately my day job has little to do with any of these).

By necessity, I also collect old user hand tools - usually by the rusty box load from a barn sale. Some have value, but only after a lot of restoration.

Sometimes I find a tool that has been customized beyond any collectible value - because some brother Neanderthal had a job to do and the tool needed "adjustment". I don't mean to poke fun at these guys - but some of their solutions are kind of funny and can be heartbreaking if you could have sold the tool for LV/LN cash.

I'd like to share a couple I have, see if you-all care to share in the comiseration with ones of yours. The idea isn't that the tool was broken - just improved..

First: Late model Stanley Bailey N0. 22 Transitional Plane with trick sole. Belonged to my grandfather the finish carpenter who hopefully just kept it going for sentimental reasons. The wood sole is worn right up to the "Stanley 22" stamp.
    Stan 22.jpg
    Not sure if this is some sort of aftermarket repair device - it's aluminum and the mouth is precisely made. Notice the wear on the brass screws where a few got proud of their countersunk hole- hope he just adjusted doors with it.
    Stan 22 Sole.jpg

Next shot shows the wide-open throat - fits plenty of shavings before clogging...
    Stan 22 throat.jpg