Thread: Cabinet Door Stile Tearout

Cabinet Door Stile Tearout

I'm a newbie building cabinets I has been going good except I got some tear out on my stiles/rails for my cabinets doors. The tearout is between the goove and the ogee profile. I'm using hard maple wood and the CMT ogee raised panel bit set. Any advice appreciated.]

Thanks!

Jeff

Jeff,

To clean that up I usually use a backer board for both the cope and stick cuts. For the cope cut I put a waste block between the back of the board and the front of the sled. That way you have a fully supported piece. I also run a board behind the styles for the same reason. There is usually very little tear out on the styles.

I hope that helps.

Quinn

if you're cutting the profile and the groove all at once, you need pressure to keep the board flat as it goes through. it can be done with hand pressure, if you know what you're doing, but a couple of featherboards (pressing into the fence, and down next to the bit) go a long way.

even though movement might not be perceptible, it's there in the form of vibration if you don't have the board securely held down.

Neal, I think you hit it dead on - I can't remember if I had my feather boards setup or not... It was a test piece... I'll run some more tomorrow and I'll know for sure!

Quinn, thanks for the comment, but my tearout is more in the middle of the stile while running it through.

Thanks!

You may want to take a light scoring pass, just enough to cut the wood fibers at the edge of what will be the groove. Maybe 1/64 to 1/32 deep.
    JR

I am going to verify the obvious but since you said your a newbie I assume the bit is new thus sharp?