Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Broke my bandsaw blade this morning.

Broke my bandsaw blade this morning.

I have the Craftsman band saw. I am a newbie and I dont know anything yet. I was just practicing using it and all of a sudden it just stopped. It stopped hard, the little motor was trying to go but the blade had it hung up. I quickly turned it off and then took the disable plug out of the switch. I open the top door and see the what appears to be a loose blade. I also notice part of the door latch fall onto the table top. I think it came loose and jammed the top wheel stuck. I open the bottom door and see where the blade is broken. I reckon I will get the honor of learning how to replace a band saw blade. One thing I have noticed, no matter what I do I can not rip a small log into anything resembling a straight piece of wood. I notice a lot of flex in the blade. I need to learn about those things as well.

Knowing that I am a newbie and dont know anything yet, do yall have a blade yall recommend for me? Or blades?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    <-------- Knows nothing of WoodWorking. Wants to know everything about WoodWorking.

usually long rips require thicker blades, the smaller the blade, the tighter the turns and more flex. Could have been an old blade and maybe had some rust, which will weaken it.

The tension, adjustment rollers, etc.. all need to be checked.

You can probably get a manual online if you don't have one, just search on the model number and read thru it for the adjustments.
    Dave W. -
    Restoring an 1890 Victorian
    Cuba, NY

What blade were you using? TPI, width and teeth profile. Were you cutting dry or green wood? Type of wood and thickness.

My guess is you were/are not using the correct blade for the cuts you are trying to make.

Bandsaw books

Pickup books by either Mark Duginske or Lonnie Bird. Great place to start learning.

Thank Yall for the responses. I was cutting some cedar boards when the blade broke.