Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Height of RAS and benches

Height of RAS and benches

Hey All,

More questions, as usual. I've kinda taken advice from another thread to slowly start building a shop in the space that I have and go from there as to how big of shop I need. I currently have a 16x24 barn out back, but it has to share storage with the garden tractor and zeroturn mower...Atleast until I get enough shop equipment and build a shed for the tractors.

Anyway, I'm trying to decide my bench heights. I've already decided I want a dedicated work bench (no equipment on it) that is 4 ft high. I know standard is like 3 ft (countertop height) but I am 6'3" and HATE hunching over. I was going to go bar height (as I have A LOT of experience with that height) but that leaves me still kinda hunching over, plus I figure having a shelf half way between will give me (2) 20" shelves (after the height of the 2x4 and plywood)...one shelf being the floor.

What do you guys think? Make sense?? Do you have benches and wish they were a different height? I was thinking of mounting my RAS on another part of the bench and trying to decide if I want it the same height as the other bench, or slightly lower for the use of the saw. I plan to inlay the saw so its table matches the height of the bench on each side of it.
    Eric Wheeler

Eric
    im 6/3 also i built my bench 42 inches tall I found that it was to tall for almost every thing that i did on it .
    of course this might also depend what you use it for i found clamping and such OK but drilling .sanding .any power tool work it was to tall ,place my project on there taller yet .
    after a year of cursing it i cut it down now it is 37 inches perfect for me .
    i made a radial saw and mitre saw station both saws are recessed in one on each end
    . i made the saw station first and after cussing the bench decided that the saw station was about right and just made it the same as the saw station