Thread: Turning tools

Turning tools

I was fortunate enough to receive a Jet VS Mini Lathe for Christmas and need (relative term) to get some turning tools. I have been looking at Lee Valley(also got a gift certificate ) at some turning tools made by Henry Taylor. Can anyone give me any input/feedback on this brand of turning tool? I am a reasonably experienced woodworker, but an absolute novice at turning and turning equipment. I will probably start out slow with small spindle type items and then try out a small bowl.(obviously,the lathe size will dictate a lot of what I can do)

Thanks,
    Jim

Hi Jim,

Congratulations on the new lathe! It is a nice one!

Henry Taylor is a good brand of turning tool. You would not go wrong with it! What matters is that the steel be High Speed Steel, and these are.

You may also want to try the Harbor Freight set of HSS turning tools. They are cheaper, and are perfectly acceptable to learn with.

Have fun with turning!

Scott.

I agree with what Scott says and would add that Packard Woodworks has a house brand of tools that are made (I think) by one of the well known manufacturers and they carry a lower price tag. I have a couple of these and really like them.

For what it's worth from a newbie who knows nothing, I got the Henry Taylor starter set and like them. But I recently got some Crown tools (roughing gouge, bowl gouge and scraper) and I like them better. They are a lot longer and heavier. When I first got them, I thought "My gosh, these are huge for this little Jet mini!" Now I use the roughing gouge to turn pens! I use the HT spindle gouges and skew for detail stuff. Have yet to turn my first bowl...maybe next week. Get yourself a sharpening jig for the gouges (make one or buy a Wolverine)....it sure makes life simpler!