Thread: exterior shop lighting

exterior shop lighting

My shop a few hundred feet from my house (on another pc of property.) Now that it is dark all the time I've been thinking that it would be nice to be able to turn on the exterior lights on my way over there. Motion detectors aren't too attractive, as there is a lot of traffic, (pedestrian, animal, vehicular) and I don't want them turning on and off all the time. I did a ridiculous amount of web research and finally happened upon this, which looks like just the ticket. www.controlight.com

Does anyone have any experience with, or input into this problem/solution.

Thanks.

I have no experience with the product but based on the information at the website, it should work.

If the shop is a metal building or has metal siding it might not work well but other than that, based on the manufacturer's specs, it should work.
    Ken

So much to learn, so little time.....

We did a trade show display for Heath=Zenith that had just what you are looking for.

I used a different brand (can't remember the name now but it was considerably cheaper). Put one in my wife's studio/office and one for my shop. Wife's lasted about a year and mine never really worked at all. Hopefully the one you linked, at that price, will work well. It is a pain when your building is some distance from your house in these dark days.

What about a contactor and one of the cheap remotes? Or one of the 110 volt dust collector remotes like a Lone Ranger??? Should be easy enough to wire in. Jim.
    Coolmeadow Setters...Exclusively Irish! When Irish Eyes are smiling....They're usually up to something!!
    Home of Irish Setter Rescue of North Texas.
    No, I'm not an electrician. Any information I share is purely what I would do myself. If in doubt, hire an electrician!
    Member of the G0691 fan club!
    At a minimum, I'm Pentatoxic...Most likely I'm a Pentaholic. There seems to be no known cure. Pentatonix, winners of The Sing Off, s3.