Thread: Help Using Jointer - Newbie Questions

Question Help Using Jointer - Newbie Questions

Hi all, I've been a lurker here for quite a while and have learned a lot from reading everyone's posts. Hopefully somebody can help me out with some very basic questions I have. Sorry if these are remedial questions, but I've never had any training in ww'ing so everything is new.

I recently bought the nice little "Tradesman" 6" jointer from the big L to play with (I've never used one before; it was a xmas present from my wife; she suggested I find something to play with since she had no idea what to get! She's awesome!). So I've been playing around with this thing a little bit and have searched on the web and read a few articles about tuning the jointer and using it, etc. I cut some maple scrap boards down to 3" wide strips and tried to flatten them since they were a little cupped. They started out about 3/4" thick.

When I put the concave side down, I was able to flatten that side in a few passes and it looked really good. I followed the instructions I'd found different places of applying most of the push block pressure to the piece on the infeed table and less pressure to the side on the outfeed table. First off, is that the right thing to do? It made sense at the time and the results were decent.

Anyway, then I tried to flatten the convex side. Suffice it to say that I didn't have much luck there. Is that even possible with this jointer? Am I expecting too much from this tool? Or is there some technique that I need to try to get it to work?

Any help is greatly appreciated. I'm having fun playing with the new toy; I just wish I knew more about what it can do for me. Thanks in advance!

ap

Andy, you've come to the right place for these types of questions. You won't find a better group of woodworkers ready to spend more of you money!