Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Introduction and a couple of questions.

Introduction and a couple of questions.

Howdy all,

My name is Andy Birko and I'm currently knee deep in learning about CNC and so forth. My main focus right now is building an instrument called the Bandura. I've got a blog documenting some builds.

At present, I can manage to make about one instrument a year and have decided to go to CNC to help manufacture some of the more tedious parts like the neck and scroll and also to push the boundaries of this instrument by adding a key change mechanism. This has been done in the past with limited success mostly I believe, because a brute force method to achieve it was used. In a former life I was an engineer (and even have the piece of paper) and I think that armed with a good CAD package and some time, I can come up with something that's actually going to work. The CNC router will hopefully have the accuracy I need to realize the design.

So now on to the questions - I'm not interested in going the home made rout for the machine - I'm interested in pretty much turn key (the one exception is the Xzero which looks almost turn key). I've narrowed it down to the Romaxx WD-1 or some variant of the K2 3925 (edit: I'm still open to suggestions though). The price range of the K2 varies from just a little more than the WD-1 to a lot more if you go with the THK ballscrew & rail model. Does anyone on this board have either of these machines? If I go with the K2, I'd like to go with the 8" Z as well, is that machine rigid enough to handle it? Is the 3925 with just the 8" Z upgrade good enough for fine instrument work or does one have to with the THK version to do good work?

Next, One of the things that's kind of critical to make this worth while is that parts need to be "glue ready" right out of the machine. Having never seen parts right out of a CNC router, is it possible to cut mating 2D curves that are a tight fit? i.e. less than .001" gap?