Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My 11' runabout project

My 11' runabout project

Haven't posted here in a while, but though I'd share with everyone the project I've been working on since July of 2010. It's an 11' runabout wood boat which I'm constructing using plans from www.glen-l.com. I'm adding a 50hp outboard to this boat, and will be fiberglassing the hull. It's made of a combination of white oak, ash, douglass fir, and marine plywood. As you can see, I first began by building a form for my frames then I built everything around that and finally added my bottom planking.

Here are some pictures, and I'll try to keep updating here as I progress.

4 (2000 x 1500).jpg8 (1000 x 750).jpg11 (2000 x 1500).jpgPicture 067f (2000 x 1500).jpg
    Last edited by Greg Woloshyn; 01-15-2011 at 10:27 PM.

And here is where I am now. I'm going slow because I have the whole winter ahead of me before I can fiberglass and paint. It needs to be at least 60 degrees for optimum finish.

Picture 027 (3000 x 2250).jpg

Very nice worksmanship Greg, Did you find the Glen-L plans to be adequate? Are you going to use Fiberglass cloth & polyester resin or Fiberglass cloth & epoxy resin? Nice project!

Mac

The Glen-L plans are excellent, very very easy to understand and follow. Of course, this was a small boat, but I imagine all their plans are somewhat alike. I'm going to use the fiberglass cloth and epoxy resin.

Blog Entries
    No, Offense, but a 50 Hp motor on an 11' runabout seems a bit large. Is the boat design rated for that much HP and weight?
    Lee Schierer
    USNA '71
    Go Navy!

My advice, comments and suggestions are free, but it costs money to run the site. If you found something of value here please give a little something back by becoming a contributor! Please Contribute

This motor is actually very light, it's way lighter than the 40hp mercury I had on there previously. I added extra reinforcement to the transom.